Speeding is the #1 most common moving violation in the United States, and Ohio leads the nation in the percentage of motorists who have a speeding ticket on their record. While a speeding ticket may not seem like that big of a deal to the average driver, speeding certainly does come with consequences; in fact, between 2018 and 2020, there were over 91,000 car accidents due to excessive speeding in the Buckeye State.

While 16% of drivers in Ohio have had at least one speeding ticket, every driver should be aware of Ohio’s speeding laws, what happens when you receive a ticket for speeding and the penalties and fines for speeding on Ohio’s roadways.

What Is Considered Speeding In Ohio?

According to Ohio law, speeding is defined as traveling “at a greater speed than will permit the person to bring it to a stop within the assured clear distance ahead.” Technically, a police officer can pull you over for going even just one mile per hour above the legal limit, but speeding is generally broken up into two different kinds of speed limits; absolute speed limits and prima facie speed limits.

Absolute Speed Limits

An absolute speed limit is the limit posted on Ohio speed limit signs. Generally speaking, absolute speed limits in Ohio are 70 miles per hour on rural freeways, 65 miles per hour on rural expressways and urban freeways, and 55 miles per hour on most other roadways.

Prima Facie Speed Limits

Prima facie speed limits are commonly known as “presumed speed limits,” meaning that these limits are not explicitly stated on a speed limit sign. Per Section 4511.21 of the Ohio Revised Code, prima-facie speed limits are defined as the following:

  • Twenty miles per hour in school zones during school recess and while children are going to or leaving school during the opening or closing hour
  • Twenty-five miles per hour in all other portions of a municipal corporation, except on state routes outside business districts, through highways outside business districts, and alleys
  • Thirty-five miles per hour on all state routes or through highways within municipal corporations outside business districts
  • Fifty miles per hour on controlled-access highways and expressways within municipal corporations

Certain zones are more highly protected by speeding laws such as construction zones or school zone where the speed limit is lower for a specified distance. Ultimately, it is up to the police officer’s discretion to determine whether or not you were speeding.

What Happens When You Get a Speeding Ticket?

Getting a speeding ticket can ruin your day. If a police officer or state trooper determines that you are speeding, you will get pulled to the side of the road away from traffic and they will ask that you provide your driver’s license and proof of auto insurance. Once the officer determines how much over the speed limit you were driving, they will then determine the severity of the traffic ticket.

Traffic violations are rated on a point system that affects your driving record and auto insurance rate. Luckily, it is possible to fight a speeding ticket to get points taken off of your license.

Camera traffic tickets on the other hand are much more difficult to contest. Fortunately, they do not result in points on your license but depending on the city they can be very particular about your speed in a certain area. It’s best to be conscious of your surroundings and learn what neighborhoods tend to have more police officers or traffic cameras.

What Are The Penalties For a Speeding Ticket in Ohio?

For most people, a speeding ticket is just a minor inconvenience. But for some people, a speeding ticket can lead to much bigger problems. The severity of your penalty is determined by how many miles per hour you are driving over the speed limit. Typically, a citation or fine, along with 2 points on your license is most common.

In more extreme circumstances, it is possible to receive a license suspension and possible jail time. Being pulled over for a speeding ticket may only scratch the surface of other violations you may face once an investigation is underway.

Can You Go To Jail For Speeding In Ohio?

In short, yes, but it most likely won’t be your first offense. In Ohio, contributing factors to jail time would be having points already accumulated on your license, driving with a suspended license, or causing an accident while speeding.

If you have three speeding tickets in one year, you may receive up to 30 days in jail along with a fine. If you are a repeat offender or fail to show up for your court dates, jail time may be in your future. Usually, the worst consequence for speeding is the hike in the price of your insurance rates and the fines to be paid.

How Much Will My Speeding Ticket Cost Me?

Speeding is classified as a minor misdemeanor, so fines tend to vary depending on how fast you were going and where you were speeding. The most common misdemeanor fine for a speeding ticket will cost you around $150 excluding fees. Many people take the opportunity to appear in court to receive a 2 point credit on their driving record.

When you appear in court, you may be able to get the point credit, but there will still be court fees to pay afterward. Depending on how many points you have, it is worth the time and money to receive a credit on your record. Having your license suspended could cost you way more money in the future so it’s best to take care of your points as soon as possible.

How Many License Points Is a Speeding Ticket In Ohio?

There is a specific point system for the state of Ohio that is rated depending on how many miles per hour you were driving over the speed limit. Speeding 6-29mph over in a speed limit zone of less than 55 mph earns you 2 points. 10 mph over the speed limit in a 55 mph zone will also earn you 2 points on your license. Going over 30 mph over the speed limit area will earn you 4 points and potential license suspension.

When you reach the six-point mark you will receive a warning that you are halfway to suspension. With this knowledge in mind of the point system, your speed matters, and not all tickets are created equal!

How Many Points Can You Have On Your Ohio Driver’s License?

The maximum points that you can accrue in a two year period is 12 points. Anything past 12 can cause your driver’s license to be suspended and potential jail time. Not only do you have to face the wrath of the court system but your car insurance premiums will also go up in price.

Fortunately, camera traffic violations do not result in points, only a traffic ticket. Going to court to contest your speeding tickets can help keep your car insurance rate down and get the 2 point credit on your driver’s license.

Removing License Points From a Speeding Ticket

If you have points on your license from a recent speeding ticket in Ohio, then don’t worry: you can receive a 2 point credit on your license by completing an approved remedial driving course. To be eligible to complete a remedial driving course and have a 2 point credit applied to your record, the following criteria must be met:

  • Have at least 2 points on your driving record
  • Have less than 12 points on your record
  • Have not taken another remedial driving course within the past three years

Until recently, it was only possible to complete a remedial driving course in person, but the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles has recently approved an online version of this course that can be taken right here on ImprovedDriving.com.

How Long Will a Speeding Ticket Stay On Your Driving Record?

As mentioned above, there is a timeline of two years that your speeding ticket stays on your record – but there are ways to get those points expunged from your record. The State of Ohio offers a driving course that you can take to freshen up your skills and receive a 2 point credit on your record.

The course will remind of you of the speed limits, traffic codes, offenses, and fines you could receive while on the road. If you need refreshing on these laws, your car insurance company might offer education as well.

How Long Do Speeding Ticket Points Stay On Your License?

Depending on how many miles per hour above the speed limit you were driving, the more points you can acquire. Two years is the industry standard for points on your license.

You can contest your tickets in court after you receive them – removing the points from your driving record. A little effort at the courthouse or through a driving course can knock those points off.

Are You Allowed To Go 5mph Over The Speed Limit?

“Allowed” is a very loose term one might use for speeding because some police officers might be fine with 5mph but others may not. Technically, an officer can pull you over for going over 1 mile per hour over the speed limit. There are not enough hours in a day to penalize every person for going 1-2 miles per hour above the speed limit.

Can you safely drive over 5mph to 10pmh over the speed limit without getting a ticket? Possibly. Keep in mind your surroundings and be aware that each officer has different opinions on what is deemed speeding.

How Many MPH Over The Speed Limit Is Reckless Driving in Ohio?

Reckless driving has many different definitions but in regards to speed, if you are driving over 25 miles per hour over the speed limit, it is considered reckless. Other factors to consider in a reckless driving scenario include, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, passing illegally, driving down the wrong side of the street, and a running red light.

Reckless driving in areas such as construction zones and school zones is given a higher penalty due to the potential endangerment of others. It’s best to avoid speeding in these areas at all to avoid expensive fines.

Can You Get a Speeding Ticket Dismissed In Ohio?

Getting a speeding ticket dismissed is not as difficult as one might think, but much like anything else, it depends on your circumstances. The best thing you can do for yourself is to show up to contest your speeding ticket.

If you are going to fight a speeding ticket, you need to dress appropriately for court and keep yourself calm and composed. Your physical appearance in court will not change the facts of the case but it will help the judge’s perception of you.

Oftentimes, the police officer who issued your ticket will not show up for your date in court to defend their citation and this works to your advantage. If the officer is not present to justify the ticket then the judge is much more likely to believe your plea. It isn’t always necessary, but it doesn’t hurt to consult a lawyer if you are concerned about your court date.

Even if you can’t get the ticket dismissed, you can reduce the penalties and fines so that you don’t end up paying thousands of dollars.

How Does a Speeding Ticket Affect My Ohio Car Insurance Rates?

Along with paying for court fees or fines from the speeding ticket itself, you may also see an increase in your car insurance rate. Your driving record is directly linked to your car insurance premium. One of the best ways to get out of having to pay more for your car insurance is to take driver’s education courses to reduce the points on your license. Many insurance companies give discounts to their drivers who monitor their safe driving – so it pays to drive a little slower!


Getting a speeding ticket is never convenient. Anyone traveling through Ohio will tell you that the State Troopers around Mansfield and Columbus are great at pulling over speeders. Next time you see those red and blue lights in your rearview mirror, you’ll be much more prepared for the inevitable consequences.

Too Many Points on Your License? Have to take a Remedial Course? Want to keep your License?

Online Two Point Driving Classes. Improved Driving Whenever You Have Time.

Too Many Points on Your License? Have to take a Remedial Course? Want to keep your License?

Enroll in our Online Remedial Driving Course Now!