If you’ve recently received points on your Ohio’s driver’s license, then you’re likely wondering how these points are going to affect your driving record and what you can to do to get them removed from your license. While a lesser traffic offense like going above the speed limit and the points associated it with it might not have a detrimental impact on your driving record, a continued accumulation of points over a period of time can come with severe penalties that can affect your car insurance rates, your ability to legally drive and ultimately, your livelihood.

Whether you only have two points on your record from a minor traffic ticket or first conviction, or you have a larger amount of points as the result of multiple or more severe moving violations, it’s important to fully understand how license points work in Ohio in order to avoid having your driver’s license suspended.

What Is The Ohio License Points System & How Does It Work?

Ohio driver’s license points are part of a comprehensive system created by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles in 1982 that is designed to help keep high-risk drivers off the road in the interest of public safety. The BMV points system identifies those who’ve committed traffic violations and assigns them points for each infraction.

The number of points someone receives for each offense on their driving record depends on the severity of the offense they’ve been convicted of, with more serious violations resulting in more points than minor ones. For example, failing to signal when changing lanes will only result in a two point penalty, while being found guilty of drag racing carries a more significant six point penalty.

After a traffic conviction becomes finalized, Section 4510.36(B) of the Ohio Revised Code requires the court to provide the BMV with information regarding the conviction and the number of points assessed to a driver’s record. Below, we’ll walkthrough the different traffic violations and the number of points they each carry.

Two Point Traffic Violations

Per the Ohio point system, the following offenses each come with a penalty of two points on your driving record. While not necessarily severe, multiple convictions of these offenses can add up quickly and negatively affect your driving record.

  • Running a stop sign or disobeying traffic laws
  • Failing to use a child restraint
  • Failing to maintain control
  • Improper passing or backing
  • Driving left of center
  • Following too closely
  • Speeding

When it comes to points for a speeding ticket, it all depends on how fast you were going. For example, if you were pulled over by a law enforcement officer for going less than 10 mph over the speed limit, you may still receive traffic ticket, but this offense will not result in any points being added to your Ohio driving record. However, if you were cited for going 65mph in a 45mph zone, then there will be an automatic two point penalty.

Four Point Traffic Violations

While more serious than two point offenses, the below violations will only result in four points added to your license. In addition to the four points, these violations will typically come with other negative consequences, like hefty fines, court costs and even jail time for multiple offenses.

  • Traveling 30 mph over the speed limit
  • Speeding in a commercial vehicle
  • Underage DUI/OVI
  • Reckless driving/reckless operation

In the case of reckless operation & depending on the circumstances of the violation, a judge can suspend your license for six months to three years, even if its a first offense. If you’ve been accused of reckless operation or any of the above four point violations, then you may want to consider hiring a qualified traffic attorney to help mitigate the situation.

Six Point Traffic Violations

Six point offenses are the most severe type of violations and will come with significant penalties beyond just points added to your driver’s license. For example, a drunk driving conviction, even if its a first offense, can result in a one to three years driver’s license suspension, three days to six months in jail, and fines ranging from $375 to $1,075, in addition to court fees, community service, and a court-approved alcohol diversion program.

  • Vehicular assault & vehicular homicide
  • Fleeing the scene of an accident
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol
  • Operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs

If a driver accumulates six points on his or her license within a two-year period, the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles will mail a six point warning letter to the driver that lists the violations and the corresponding number of points for each offense. Additionally, this letter will outline the penalties for receiving 12 points in this two year period. These penalties include a six month suspension, a required completion of a remedial driving course, the filing of a certificate of insurance, and a reinstatement fee once the suspension has been lifted. The driver will also need to retake their driving test.

How Many Points Can I Get On My License In Ohio?

As mentioned above, the max number of points a person can accumulate on their driving record is 12 points in a two year period. Per Section 4510.36(C), if a driver accumulates 12 or more points in this period, then the Ohio BMV will impose an automatic six month license suspension, also known as a 12-point suspension.

When a driver has accumulated 12 points, the BMV will issue a notice to the driver that a license suspension is being imposed, along with a list of the violations and the number of points assessed for each violation. Once the driver’s license suspension has been served, applicable fees have been paid, and a remedial driving course & driving test have been completed, the driver will then be eligible for license reinstatement.

How Do I Check Points On My Driving Record?

The Ohio BMV makes it easy for drivers to check how many points are on their record. To start, navigate to the BMV’s Online Services portal and click on the link for More Services. You will then need to scroll down to the Driver License & ID Card section of the portal, where you will see a link for BMV Driving Record.

This link will allow you view an unofficial copy of your driving record record or request an official copy for a $5 fee. After you’ve logged into the portal, you will be able to review your traffic convictions from the past 2 years as well as the points associated with each offense.

How Long Do Points Stay On My License?

Under the Ohio point system, points stay on your license for two years, and this two year period begins on the date of your first conviction. After two years, starting on this date, any points accumulated during this period will no longer count toward the 12 point limit for a suspension. For example, if you were convicted of a 4-point offense on July 1st of 2022, these 4 points will no longer count towards the 12 point maximum starting on July 1st of 2024.

Since the information is public, insurance companies and employers can access this information during this two year period. If you’re worried about how your points may affect your driving record, insurance rates, employment, and your ability to drive, the good news is that it is possible to receive a 2 point credit.

How Can I Remove Points From My License In Ohio?

Unfortunately, points do not disappear on their own. However; if you are an Ohio driver with at least two points on your record (but less than 12), you can complete an approved remedial driving course to have a two point credit added to your license.

In the past, state laws required that these remedial driving courses be completed in person. Fortunately, the Ohio Bureau Of Motor Vehicles has recently approved a version of the course that can be completed entirely online, and such a course can be taken on right here on ImprovedDriving.com.

In fact, ImprovedDriving.com, is one of the few online remedial driving course currently approved by the state of Ohio. Taking our defensive driving course online comes with many benefits, like the ability to complete it at your own pace and on your own schedule. You can take this course up to 5 times in your lifetime, but can only take it once in a three year period.

Other Frequently Asked Questions About Driver’s License Points

Do Points Carry Over Between States?

If you receive a moving violation while out of state, this offense will not result in points being added to your Ohio driving record. While the conviction will reported to the Ohio BMV, it will not come with any points assigned to it.

How Do Points Affect My Car Insurance Rates?

If you have points on your record as a result of a moving violation, there’s a good chance that your auto insurance rates will increase, though the amount will vary based on a few different factors, such as your insurer, prior driving record, and how much your insurer weighs the offense. 

What Can I Do If My License Is Suspended?

If you’ve received a 12-point suspension or if you were suspended as a result of a conviction like a DUI, then you’re likely wondering what you can do to get your license reinstated. Depending on the type of suspension, there are different reinstatement requirements you must meet before you can get your ability to legally drive back. Typically, your suspension will come with fines, court costs, and other fees, plus any additional stipulations that are specific to your conviction.

Too Many Points on Your License? Have to take a Remedial Course? Want to keep your License?

Enroll in our Online Remedial Driving Course Now!

Too Many Points on Your License? Have to take a Remedial Course? Want to keep your License?

Enroll in our Online Remedial Driving Course Now!